UserGuiding stores user history on browsers' local storage by default. The container code installed on your platform recognizes unique users (unique browser sessions) and creates unique user IDs for them. Then, each user's event history (seeing a guide or responding to the NPS survey) is linked to their unique IDs.
As long as the user's browser session is the same, their event history is being kept. If they start a new browser session, clear the browser's local storage, change computer/browser, or login incognito, then a new ID is generated for the same user.
Alternative to the default method, we have a service called User Identification.
With this feature, you can send precise user IDs for your end-users. This cancels out MAU's dependency on unique browser sessions. Instead, you start defining your exact MAU count (user base) with the IDs you send us.
For instance, if you send 2000 IDs for 2000 different users, only those people can see the live UG contents (Guide, Checklist, etc.) you have. And, your MAU count will be 2K.
This feature has additional perks such as having persisted user data at UserGuiding, detecting event history for specific users, and access to our user API.
When User Identification is enabled:
The User IDs, other user attributes, and onboarding material usage data are kept in the cloud and retrieved accordingly each time an end-user visits your web platform, where UserGuiding is installed.
Your current period MAU will be reset to zero, and usage analytics will be started to be measured from scratch.
You can access the onboarding material usage data by using the User API.
Learn more about the User API.
When User Identification is disabled:
As you may already know, UserGuiding generates random unique user IDs and stores them in your browser's local storage. Users' UserGuiding histories and their properties are kept in the local storage as well.
Therefore, when a browser's local storage is cleared, user IDs and histories are wiped out as well. As a solution, we offer User Identification to keep the user data persisted in the cloud.