While creating a new Checklist or editing an existing one, you'll notice an option called Progression, which can be turned on or off.
When enabled, your checklist will have a progress bar and check mark icons for your checklist items.
When turned on
Depending on your user onboarding project goals, you'd need a Checklist in a more sequential manner.
In that case, enabling progression allows you to structure a specific path for your users and give them a sense of accomplishment while completing those steps.
Common use cases would be:
A sequential journey to explore the basics of a web platform;
Using a feature that requires many correlated actions;
Presenting a new functionality in a structured way.
When turned off
Other times, you want to present and make visible your onboarding material in an organized way, but having a sequence and step completion is not needed. Disabling progression will support you in achieving that.
For that purpose, everyday use cases would be:
A help center or a knowledge base, where you can support your users 24/7;
FAQ questions that could be correlated with the current functionality/web page.